News Flash Home
The original item was published from 1/15/2019 2:28:04 PM to 2/16/2019 12:10:00 AM.

News Flash

Homepage News Flash

Posted on: January 15, 2019

[ARCHIVED] Functional Classification of Carlton County Roadway System

In the summer of 2018 the Carlton County Transportation Department began to review the functional classification of their roadway system. 

What is functional classification?

Functional classification is the grouping of streets and highways into classes or systems according to the character of service they are intended to provide.  Basic to this process is the recognition that most travel involved movement through a network of roads.  Functional classification defines the role that any particular road or street plays in serving the flow of trips through an entire network. 

The Transportation Department analyzed the system and discovered that there were some changes that needed to be made.  The functional classification of County Roads (CR) 19, 6, 150, 101, 115, and 140 where changed to facilitate a more uniform system.  These changes allow the Transportation Department to use various local, state, and federal funding sources where they will do have the most impact.  On August 31, 2018 when the Commissioner of Transportation for the State of Minnesota approved the functional classification changes the roadways afore mentioned underwent route number changes. 

County Road 19 (from CR 12 to CR 6) changed to County Road 135

County Road 6 (from CR 3 East to CR 1) changed to County Road 112

County Road 150, Erickson Road, (from CR 61 to CR 2) changed to County Road 27

County Road 101, Alcohol Road, (from CR 51 to CR 3) changed to County Road 51

County Road 115, Airport Road, (from CR 5 to CR 7) changed to County Road 14

County Road 140 (from CR 6 to CR 61) changed to County Road 13

Map of functional class changes

Facebook Twitter Email